Declarations in for first-ever Plus 10 bonus race


More than half of the field in the Betway Brocklesby Conditions Stakes will be chasing the first-ever Plus 10 bonus when the historic race raises the curtain on the 2015 Flat season on Saturday. Six of nine runners in the first race at Doncaster are qualified to win connections a £10,000 bonus on top of race prize money.

Plus 10 is a £5.5 million bonus scheme which will see qualified two-year-olds (and three-year-old horses from 2016) race for cash bonuses of £10,000 across several hundred races in Britain and Ireland. The Plus 10 runners at Doncaster hail from a number of stables familiar with the Brocklesby, including trainer Bill Turner who has won the race four times in the past nine years.
Another to feature within the Plus 10 contingent is a Pastoral Pursuits colt which is related to trainer David O’Meara’s Grade 1 winner, G Force. First Bombardment, for Mr O’Meara and jockey Daniel Tudhope, will start in stall six, a position syndicate member, Stuart Allison of Northern Hart Racing, said the ownership group was pleased with. Named in recognition of the history of the hometown of the syndicate, First Bombardment will race in the colours of the local football side and Mr Allison said he was hopeful the town would get behind the horse as the season progressed
“Most of the lads who are involved in the horse are from Hartlepool, which was the first place in mainland Britain to be bombed by the Germans in World War I. “Last year was the centenary of the bombardment so we named him in recognition of the significant impact this event had on our community.”
Having sold a couple of horses in previous years, Mr Allison said the syndicate was keen to reinvest when the opportunity arose last year with the Doncaster Bloodstock Sales Silver Sale graduate, purchased for Mr O’Meara by Jason Kelly of JDK Bloodstock. On Saturday the owners will be on-course and cheering home First Bombardment with the syndicate, and while a sound performance is a priority, Mr Allison said a £10,000 bonus would be a great result. “Winning a bonus is an exciting prospect and a real incentive to owners of a two-year-old; Plus 10 is a good scheme to be in.”

The full list of Plus 10 runners in The Betway Brocklesby Conditions Stakes:
 First Bombardment, T: David O’Meara, J: Daniel Tudhope
 Just That Lord, T: Bill Turner, J: Ryan While
 Ravenhoe, T: Mark Johnston, J: Silvestre De Sousa
 Sir Dudley, T: James Given, J: P. J. McDonald
 Teversham, T: Chris Dwyer, J: Joe Doyle
 Tim The Taxi, T: Natalie Lloyd-Beavis, J: Steve Drowne

Plus 10 Committee Chairman, Julian Richmond-Watson, said it was encouraging to see such strong numbers for Plus 10’s debut race. “We are delighted with the number of Plus 10 horses which will be competing at Doncaster in The Betway Brocklesby Conditions Stakes on Saturday and wish the connections of all runners good luck. “These declarations, combined with the significant number of owners and breeders registering to the scheme, are extremely encouraging.
“I would urge all owners and breeders of eligible horses to register for the Plus 10 bonus scheme as it represents an excellent opportunity to enhance their racing and bloodstock returns through the £5.5 million bonus prize pool.”

The Brocklesby (at 1.25pm) will be one of four races to contain a Plus 10 bonus this weekend, with Plus 10 races also being staged at Kempton Park and Chelmsford City on Saturday and The Curragh on Sunday. The races being:
 1.45pm – The 888Sport Maiden Fillies’ Stakes (Class 4), Kempton Park
 2:55pm – The Dubai World Cup Toteplacepot Today Maiden Stakes (Class 4), Chelmsford City
 2.10pm – The Tally Ho Stud European Breeders Fund Maiden, The Curragh

This season there will be more than 480 opportunities for qualified two-year-olds to claim a Plus 10 bonus. In 2016, when the scheme is fully operational and Plus 10 bonuses are available on both two and three-year-old races, there will be more than 550 races in the scheme.
Each time a £10,000 bonus is won by a qualified horse, the bonus is split 75% to the owner, 10% each to the payers of the scheme’s first two registration stages and 5% to the trainer, jockey and stable staff of the winner.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s